Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to linux and need help setting up my netgear wg511v2 on my laptop. I have already installed ndiswrapper. The problem is when i load the drivers an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Netgear wg511v2 on suse 10.2

Hi im new to linux and need help setting up my netgear wg511v2 on my laptop. I have already installed ndiswrapper. The problem is when i load the drivers an check them it shows invalid driver.

I have the orignal netgear cd with the drivers on it and just rick clicked an copied the .sys and .inf files to home. Is that now how i am suppose to do it? This really has me baffled any help will be appreciated. Sorry i am new to linux and thanks for any help.

post the output of ndiswrapper -l
    Are you installing the *.inf?
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Just Joined!
    Well i have successfully got the card up and running. The green light is flashing now lol. My problem is how do I get it to connect to my wireless network. I put in the correct ESSID name and WEP key, but still it wont connect. I have used one of the WLAN sniffers and can see all of the available networks but cant connect. What can i do? Thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Make sure you type the correct key(hex,ascii)
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by valemon View Post
    Make sure you type the correct key(hex,ascii)
    I did it was a passphrase i think.

Just Joined!
    Well still no luck i have been working on this piece of **** for some time now. Anyone got any ideas on whats wrong?